This is the "Home" page of the "Grants" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page


Foundation Directory Online (available on all Kent campuses) 

Foundation Grant to Individuals (the full version is available on Trumbull campus; there is a free limited version)




    9 a.m.-12 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2015
    Technology Building, Room 117
    Kent State University at Trumbull
    4314 Mahoning Ave. NW
    Warren, OH 44483

    Learn about:

    • The basic elements of a proposal
    • The “do’s” and “don’ts” of writing and submitting a proposal
    • How to build a relationship with your program officer
    • How to follow up whether the answer is yes or no

    Focus on the proposal budget:

    • What to include under the "personnel" section and how to calculate it
    • The level of detail to include for non-personnel expenses
    • Determining reasonable costs
    • Types of expenses considered "overhead”
    • Other financial documents funders will want to see


    Carrie Miller is a regional training specialist with the Foundation Center-Cleveland. Previously, Miller served as program director for The City Club of Cleveland, planning that agency’s diverse public forum series in addition to coordinating, managing and marketing over 100 pub-lic events per year. Miller is also an active advocate for the Cleveland International Film Festival, Cleveland Social Venture Partners, the Neighborhood Connections Grant making Committee and Friends of Edgewater State Park. Miller received a Master of Nonprofit Manage-ment from Case Western Reserve University and a Bachelor of Science in history from The Ohio State University.



    Starting a Nonprofit

    Starting a Nonprofit from the Foundation Center:  "Before forming a nonprofit, your first step is to find out if organizations (nonprofit, for-profit, or government) are already doing the same or similar work in your community. It will be harder to get support if you are just duplicating existing services, versus improving or adding to them..."

    Starting a Nonprofit in Ohio from the Ohio Secretary of State: "This guide has been prepared for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. It is recommended that you seek legal and tax counsel before acting upon this information..."

    Applying for Tax Exempt Status from the IRS


      About Us

      Kent State University Trumbull Campus Library is now a member of the Foundation Center's nationwide network.  This group of libraries, community foundations, and other non-profit organizations provides a vast collection of resources for individuals and agencies that do fundraising.  The Trumbull Campus Library is open to the public and the parking is free.  Anyone with a need for information on grants and fundraising now has an incredible wealth of resources at his disposal.  Grantmaker directories, books on fundraising and nonprofit management, and ndation Center's electronic database, The Foundation Directory Online, are provided for free public access as a service to the community.  The fully-searchable database includes detailed profiles of all active U.S. foundations, as well as an extensive file of recent grants awarded by the the Founation's top funders.For more information, call Rose Guerrieri at 330-675-8866 or email

      About the Librarian

      Rose Guerrieri MLIS
      Contact Info
      Send Email

      Return to Trumbull Campus Library Homepage




      Loading  Loading...